Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R (2016–2018)
Fluid capacities, consumables, drivetrain, tire pressure & wear limits
The Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R (2016–2018) takes 3.3 L of oil with a filter change (2.9 L without).
Fluid Capacities
Oil capacity (without filter)2.9 LWhen filter is not removed
Oil capacity (with filter)3.3 LWhen filter is removed
Oil capacity (dry fill)3.7 L
Coolant (radiator)2.6 L
Consumables
Engine oil gradeAPI SG, SH, SJ, SL or SM with JASO MA, MA1 or MA2, SAE 10W-40
Coolant typePermanent type antifreeze (Green), 50/50 mixture with soft waterFreezing point -35°C (-31°F)
Oil filter (OEM)16097-0011Different from the 16097-0008 used on the pre-2016 ZX-10R and most of the rest of the Kawasaki lineup — this generation's redesigned engine takes 16097-0011 instead. Confirmed via Kawasaki's official parts pages for 2016-2020 ZX-10R models.
Air filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (viscous paper element)
Spark plug (OEM)NGK SILMAR9B9
Front brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Rear brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Drive chainENUMA EK525RMX3/3D, 114 links
Clutch free play2–3 mm
Drivetrain
Chain size525
Chain links114
Chain slack25–35 mm
Chain 20-link limit319 mmNew chain 20-link length standard: 317.5–318.2 mm
Front sprocket (OEM)17TDerived from the final reduction ratio 2.294 (39/17)
Rear sprocket (OEM)39TDerived from the final reduction ratio 2.294 (39/17)
Brakes & Tires
Front tire size120/70ZR17 M/C (58W)
Rear tire size190/55ZR17 M/C (75W)
Front tire pressure250 kPaUp to 180 kg combined load
Rear tire pressure290 kPaUp to 180 kg combined load
Brake fluid typeDOT 4
Wear Limits
Front brake disc (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in the extracted manual text — left unverified rather than guessed
Rear brake disc (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in the extracted manual text — left unverified rather than guessed
Brake pad — front (min)1 mmStandard 3.7 mm
Brake pad — rear (min)1 mmStandard 4.5 mm
Clutch friction plate (min)0 mmNot captured as a standalone friction-plate-thickness spec in the extracted manual text — left unverified rather than guessed
Drive chain slack (limit)35 mmEquals the standard adjustment range maximum — the manual does not define a separate over-limit threshold