Honda CBR1000RR (2008–2014)
Fluid capacities, consumables, drivetrain, tire pressure & wear limits
The Honda CBR1000RR (2008–2014) takes 3 L of oil with a filter change (2.8 L without).
Fluid Capacities
Oil capacity (with filter)3 LAfter oil filter change
Oil capacity (without filter)2.8 LAfter draining
Oil capacity (dry fill)3.7 LAfter disassembly
Coolant (radiator)3 LRadiator and engine combined. Reserve tank: 0.34 L
Consumables
Engine oil gradePro Honda GN4 4-stroke oil (U.S.A. and Canada) or equivalent motor oil, API service classification SG or higher, JASO T903 standard MA, SAE 10W-30
Coolant typePro Honda HP Coolant or an equivalent high quality ethylene glycol antifreeze containing silicate free corrosion inhibitors, 1:1 mixture with distilled water
Oil filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Air filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (paper element)
Spark plug (OEM)NGK IMR9E-9HES / DENSO VUH27ES (Iridium)
Front brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Rear brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Drive chainDID 50VA11-120ZB/116 or RK 50HFOZ6-120LJFZ/116, 116 linksPrinted pitch code interpreted as 530 — see metadata.audit_notes
Clutch free play10–20 mmAt lever end, cable-operated
Drivetrain
Chain size530Manual prints 'DID 50VA11' / 'RK 50HFOZ6' — interpreted as 530 pitch, see metadata.audit_notes
Chain links116
Chain slack25–35 mm
Front sprocket (OEM)16TDerived from the final reduction ratio 2.625 (42/16)
Rear sprocket (OEM)42TDerived from the final reduction ratio 2.625 (42/16)
Brakes & Tires
Front tire size120/70ZR17 M/C (58W)
Rear tire size190/50ZR17 M/C (73W)
Front tire pressure250 kPaSTANDARD/ABS/SP type, up to maximum weight capacity or 90 kg (200 lbs) load
Rear tire pressure290 kPaSTANDARD/ABS/SP type, up to maximum weight capacity or 90 kg (200 lbs) load
Brake fluid typeDOT 4
Wear Limits
Front brake disc (min)3.5 mmStandard 4.4–4.6 mm
Rear brake disc (min)4 mmStandard 4.8–5.2 mm
Brake pad — front (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in this manual — pad wear is judged by a wear limit groove molded into the pad; left unverified rather than guessed
Brake pad — rear (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in this manual — pad wear is judged by a wear limit groove molded into the pad; left unverified rather than guessed
Clutch friction plate (min)3.6 mmDisc A (thickest of three friction-plate types) service limit; standard 3.72–3.88 mm. Disc B and Disc C are thinner (standard 3.22–3.38 mm each, service limit 3.1 mm) — this clutch pack uses three distinct friction-plate thicknesses
Drive chain slack (limit)50 mmManual states 50 mm (2.0 in) or more is excessive and may damage the frame; standard adjustment range is 25–35 mm