MOTOFIXER
← Back to MotoFixer

Honda CB500X (2013-2018)

Fluid capacities, consumables, drivetrain, tire pressure & wear limits

The Honda CB500X (2013-2018) takes 2.7 L of oil with a filter change (2.5 L without).

Honda CB500X

Fluid Capacities

Oil capacity (with filter)2.7 LAt oil filter change
Oil capacity (without filter)2.5 LAt draining only
Oil capacity (dry fill)3.2 LAt full disassembly/overhaul
Coolant (radiator)1.4 LRadiator and engine combined. Reserve tank (upper level): 0.12 L

Consumables

Engine oil gradeHonda Genuine Oil, SAE 10W-30 SJ, JASO MA (or equivalent SAE 10W-30 SJ or higher)Per the wider 2014-2018 manual, Honda changed the recommended grade to SAE 10W-30 SL, JASO MA (or equivalent SAE 10W-30 SL or higher) effective 03/07/2017 — a calendar date cutoff printed in the manual, not a model-year boundary. Vehicles built before that date still call for SJ.
Coolant typeHonda Coolant C2702ANT000 (or equivalent ethylene-glycol antifreeze), mixed 1:1 with distilled water
Oil filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (cartridge filter)
Air filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (viscous paper element, non-cleanable)
Spark plug (OEM)CPR8EA-9 (NGK)
Drive chainDID520V0, 112 links
Front brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Rear brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Clutch free play10–20 mmAt lever end, cable-operated

Drivetrain

Chain size520
Chain links112
Chain slack35–45 mm
Front sprocket (OEM)15TDerived from the manual's final reduction ratio 2.733 (41/15)
Rear sprocket (OEM)41TDerived from the manual's final reduction ratio 2.733 (41/15)

Brakes & Tires

Front tire size120/70ZR17M/C (58W)
Rear tire size160/60ZR17M/C (69W)
Front tire pressure250 kPaSame for solo rider and rider+passenger
Rear tire pressure290 kPaSame for solo rider and rider+passenger
Brake fluid typeDOT 4

Wear Limits

Front brake disc (min)4 mmStandard 4.8–5.2 mm
Rear brake disc (min)4 mmStandard 4.8–5.2 mm
Brake pad — front (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in this manual — pad wear indicator grooves are used instead; left unverified rather than guessed
Brake pad — rear (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in this manual — pad wear indicator grooves are used instead; left unverified rather than guessed
Clutch friction plate (min)2.27 mmStandard 2.30–2.50 mm
Drive chain slack (limit)45 mmEquals the standard adjustment range maximum. Manual separately warns that 60 mm or more of slack can damage the frame.

MotoFixer Pro unlocks torque specs, fault codes, suspension setup, and full engine data for this bike.

See Pro pricing →
Open in MotoFixer →