MOTOFIXER
← Back to MotoFixer

Honda Africa Twin (CRF1000L) (2016–2019)

Fluid capacities, consumables, drivetrain, tire pressure & wear limits

The Honda Africa Twin (CRF1000L) (2016–2019) takes 4.1 L of oil with a filter change (3.9 L without).

Honda Africa Twin (CRF1000L)

Fluid Capacities

Oil capacity (with filter)4.1 LCRF1000/A after draining with oil filter change. CRF1000D (adds clutch oil filter change): 4.2 L
Oil capacity (without filter)3.9 LCRF1000/A after draining only. CRF1000D: 4.0 L
Oil capacity (dry fill)4.9 LCRF1000/A after full disassembly. CRF1000D: 5.2 L
Coolant (radiator)1.63 LCRF1000/A radiator and engine combined. CRF1000D: 1.65 L. Reserve tank: 0.33 L

Consumables

Engine oil gradeHonda "4-stroke motorcycle oil" or equivalent, API SG or higher, JASO T903 MA, SAE 10W-30
Coolant typeHigh-quality ethylene glycol antifreeze with silicate-free corrosion inhibitors, 1:1 mixture with distilled water
Oil filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Air filter (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (viscous paper element)
Spark plug (OEM)NGK SILMAR8A9S
Front brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Rear brake pads (OEM)Not listed by part number in the manual (service part)
Drive chainDID 525HV3-124LE, 124 links
Clutch free play10–20 mmCRF1000/A (cable clutch) only. CRF1000D uses an automatic dual wet clutch with no lever free play — see DCT clutch clearance spec (advanced_engine)

Drivetrain

Chain size525
Chain links124
Chain slack35–45 mm
Front sprocket (OEM)16TDerived from the final reduction ratio 2.625 (42/16), common to both CRF1000/A and CRF1000D
Rear sprocket (OEM)42TDerived from the final reduction ratio 2.625 (42/16)

Brakes & Tires

Front tire size90/90-21 M/C 54H
Rear tire size150/70R18 M/C 70H
Front tire pressure200 kPaSame for solo rider and rider+passenger
Rear tire pressure250 kPa250 kPa solo rider · 280 kPa rider+passenger
Brake fluid typeDOT 4

Wear Limits

Front brake disc (min)3.5 mmStandard 4.5 ±0.1 mm
Rear brake disc (min)5 mmStandard 6.0 ±0.2 mm
Brake pad — front (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in this manual — pad wear indicator grooves are used instead; left unverified rather than guessed
Brake pad — rear (min)0 mmNot stated as a numeric wear-limit spec in this manual — pad wear indicator grooves are used instead; left unverified rather than guessed
Clutch friction plate (min)3 mmCRF1000/A standard 3.22–3.38 mm. CRF1000D uses a wet dual-clutch pack instead — see advanced_engine for DCT disc/plate specs
Drive chain slack (limit)45 mmEquals the standard adjustment range maximum; the manual separately warns that 60 mm or more risks frame damage

MotoFixer Pro unlocks torque specs, fault codes, suspension setup, and full engine data for this bike.

See Pro pricing →
Open in MotoFixer →